• Sunday, May 16, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:07 am
Taslima Nasrin infected with Covid-19...

Taslima Nasrin contracts Covid-19

People

Sun, May 9 2021

The writer says she hasn’t stepped out of home for over a year

Remembering Tagore, the polymath who...

Remembering Rabindranath Tagore

People

Sat, May 8 2021

The legendary poet's birth anniversary goes online for the second year in a row

Swadhin Bangla Betar Kendra artiste...

Anup Bhattacharya passes away

People

Thu, May 6 2021

The 77-year-old breathed his last while undergoing treatment at a Dhaka hospital on Thursday night.

Dr Hameeda Hossain gets BDI Lifetime...

Dr Hameeda Hossain gets BDI Lifetime...

People

Sun, Apr 25 2021

Dr Hameeda is also a founding member of Ain o Salish Kendra, a legal aid and human rights...

Bangla Academy president Prof Shamsuzzaman...

Prof Shamsuzzaman Khan no more

People

Wed, Apr 14 2021

Apart from Covid-19, the eminent folklorist was suffering from old age complications

National award-winning music director...

Music director Farid Ahmed passes...

People

Tue, Apr 13 2021

He contracted Covid-19 last month and was put on life support on Sunday

RMG workers will have to walk to their...

RMG workers will have to walk to their...

Bangladesh

Mon, Apr 12 2021

The factory owners claim that since most of them live within the vicinity of their workplace, they can...

Bangladeshi expat wins 23C in Abu Dhabi...

Bangladeshi expat wins 23C in Abu Dhabi...

Around the Web

Sun, Apr 4 2021

Shahed first travelled to Abu Dhabi at the age of 15

Shwapno stands beside woman rickshaw...

Shwapno stands beside woman rickshaw...

People

Thu, Apr 1 2021

Baby Akter will delivers goods from the supershop to its customers in Mirpur 11 area

Namita Ghosh, first female artiste of...

First female SBBK artist Namita Ghosh...

People

Sat, Mar 27 2021

After battling cancer for a long time, she had tested positive for Covid-19 earlier this month

Son of one, father to millions

Son of one, father to millions

People

Sat, Mar 20 2021

As Bangladesh kicks off its celebration of Mujib Year, officially termed as “Mujib Borsho,”...

Bangabandhu in Dhaka: A leader of the...

Bangabandhu in Dhaka: A leader of the...

People

Fri, Mar 19 2021

This is the fourth instalment of a 10-part series on the life and work of our founding father, Bangabandhu...

‘GDP growth alone not enough to be developed...

‘GDP growth alone not enough to be developed...

People

Fri, Mar 19 2021

Amid celebrations for the golden jubilee of Bangladesh’s independence, international development...

A young leader in the making

A young leader in the making

People

Wed, Mar 17 2021

This is the second instalment of a 10-part series on the life and work of our founding father, Bangabandhu...

Senior BNP leader Moudud Ahmed passes...

BNP leader Moudud passes away

Obituary

Tue, Mar 16 2021

The BNP Standing Committee member died while undergoing treatment at a hospital in Singapore

Rich tributes paid to journalist Shaheen...

Rich tributes paid to journalist Shaheen...

Bangladesh

Wed, Mar 3 2021

His body was flown back home from Canada Wednesday morning

Mourners pay final respects to Syed...

Final respects to Syed Abul Maksud

People

Wed, Feb 24 2021

The eminent columnist was buried at Azimpur Graveyard following his third namaz-e-janaza at the Dhaka...

Syed Abul Maksud passes away

Syed Abul Maksud passes away

Obituary

Tue, Feb 23 2021

The noted journalist and author received the Bangla Academy Award in 1995 for his contribution to Bangla...

Anwarul Islam Bobby's 27th death anniversary...

Anwarul Islam Bobby's 27th death anniversary...

People

Sun, Feb 14 2021

He passed away on this day in 1994 in Dubai, on his way to London for leukaemia treatment

Gemcon chairman, director get...

Gemcon chairman, director get...

People

Tue, Feb 9 2021

After taking their doses, they thanked Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for initiating the vaccination...

Moudud taken to Singapore for...

Moudud taken to Singapore for...

People

Tue, Feb 2 2021

The BNP leader was admitted to Evercare Hospital in Dhaka with low levels of haemoglobin