• Thursday, Sep 23, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:02 am

Bangladeshi NGO BELA wins 2020 Tang Prize for advancing legal practice

  • Published at 04:11 pm June 21st, 2020
bela Bangladesh Environmental Lawyers Association (BELA)

Established in 1992, BELA is dedicated to promoting environmental justice and developing sound environmental jurisprudence in Bangladesh

The Bangladesh Environmental Lawyers Association (BELA) has won the 2020 Tang Prize for their significant contributions to the rule of law.

The NGO shared the prestigious award with two other NGOs - Colombia-based Dejusticia, and Lebanon-based The Legal Agenda, said a media statement.

The NGOs were awarded "for their efforts in furthering the rule of law and its institutions through education and advocacy," stated the award citation released by the Tang Prize Foundation.

Established in 1992, BELA is dedicated to promoting environmental justice and developing sound environmental jurisprudence in Bangladesh, the committee said in a statement.

It promotes the rule of law and environmental justice through public interest litigation, advocacy, research and publication, as well as capacity-building for actors in the public sector and civil society, the statement said.

BELA has initiated more than 250 public interest lawsuits and advocated for legislative reform on environmental justice.

The NGO has covered various issues, including river pollution, industrial pollution, vehicular pollution, illegal construction, labor welfare, illegal mining, wetlands protection, prevention of soil erosion, reduction of plastic use, and prevention of ship pollution, said the committee.

In 2003, the organization was named to the Global 500 Roll of Honor under the United Nations Environment Program for generating broader awareness of environmental law and sensitizing the notion of environmental justice.

In 2009, Syeda Rizwana Hasan, the association's chief executive, was awarded the prestigious Goldman Environmental Prize for her public interest work in environmental conservation.

The Tang Prize, also known as the "Asian Nobel prize," was established by Taiwanese businessman and philanthropist Samuel Yin, chairman of the Ruentex Group, and first awarded in 2014.

The Tang Prize is held every two years, awarding high achievers in four fields - sustainable development, biopharmaceutical science, Sinology, and rule of law.

The three organizations will share a cash award of $1.35 million and a research grant of $0.34 million.

Facebook 97
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail