• Monday, Sep 16, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:17 pm

Fifth phase upazila election ends

  • Published at 10:21 am March 31st, 2014

The fifth phase of upazila elections in 73 upazilas of the country in view of the violence in previous phases of the upazila polls ended on Monday afternoon.

The voting for the upazila poll had begun simultaneously through 5,534 polling stations in the 34 districts from 8am and ended at 4pm without any break.

A total of 362 were contesting for the position of chairman, 418 for vice chairman and 276 for female vice chairman in these 73 upazilas.

Through 74 upazilas were set for balloting in the fifth phase, the Election Commission postponed poll in Thakurgaon Sadar for High Court-related legal complications.

The last four phases of upazila elections were marred with violence, what Election Commissioner Abdul Mobarak blamed the Awami League for.

At least four people were reportedly killed in the fourth phase of upazila elections held on March 23.

After four rounds, the Awami League-endorsed candidates had won chairman post in 177 Upazilas, toppling the BNP which was in the lead after the third round.

The BNP now has 150 chairmen. With its ally Jamaat’s 32 chairmen and one of LDP, the opposition 19-Party alliance is ahead of the Awami League with chairmen in 183 Upazilas.