Thursday March 22, 2018 12:30 PM

Wins for Shinepukur, Rupganj and Brothers in DPL

Wins for Shinepukur, Rupganj and Brothers in DPL
Rupganj's Naeem Islam plays a shot during their DPL match against Khelaghar in Savar ThursdayCourtesy

Shinepukur continued their impressive run in the DPL as they registered a commanding eight-wicket win at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka

Shinepukur Cricket Club, Legends of Rupganj and Brothers Union registered victories in their Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2017-18 season matches against Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity and Kalabagan Cricket Club respectively Thursday.

Rupganj v Khelaghar

Rupganj clinched their fifth win of the season at BKSP 3. Winning the toss, Khelaghar elected to bat first. Riding on a 182-run partnership between Mahidul Islam Ankon and Robiul Islam Robi for the second wicket, Khelaghar made a strong start, posting 190 runs inside 41 overs. But the Rupganj bowlers came back strongly and restricted Khelaghar to 259 for the loss of four wickets after the stipulated 50 overs. Robi scored 116 with 13 fours and a six while Ankon made 80 for Khelaghar.

In reply, Rupganj’s top-order batted well and eased past their target with 21 balls and six wickets to spare. Mohammad Naim scored 82 while captain Naeem Islam scored 70.

Shinepukur v Sheikh Jamal

Shinepukur continued their impressive run in the DPL as they registered a commanding eight-wicket win at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. Taking first guard, Sheikh Jamal were all out for 262 in 49.5 overs, riding on Ziaur Rahman’s 79 off 87 balls. Ziaur struck four fours and as many sixes in his innings. Hasanuzzaman also scored a half century (61) for Sheikh Jamal. Saifuddin, Sujon Hawladar, Abdul Gaffar and Shuvagata Hom took two wickets each for Shinepukur.

In reply, Shinepukur’s Shadman Islam scored a magnificent unbeaten 144 to guide his team to a comfortable victory. Towhid Hridoy was the other undefeated batsman with 50.

Brothers v Kalabagan

Losing the toss, Brothers posted a challenging 317 on the scoreboard after their allotted 50 overs at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Cricket Stadium in Fatullah. Junaid Siddique scored a quickfire century of 123 off 111 balls with 16 fours and a couple of sixes. Junaid and Myshukur Rahman added 205 for the second wicket stand. Myshukur narrowly missed his century as he was out for 96 with half a dozen fours and three sixes.

Chasing a 300-plus total, Kalabagan lost regular wickets and folded for just 186 in 45 overs. Captain Muktar Ali scored the highest 62 while Tasamul Haque made 44. Sohrawardi Shuvo took three wickets for Brothers.



Shinepukur 263/2 in 48.3 overs (Shadman 144*, Towhid 50*) beat Sk Jamal 262 in 49.5 overs (Ziaur 79, Hasanuzzaman 61) by eight wickets

Kalabagan 186 in 45 overs (Muktar 62*, Tasamul 44) lost to Brothers 317/4 (Junaid 123*, Myshukur 96) by 131 runs

Rupganj 262/4 in 46.3 overs (Naim 82, Naeem 70) beat Khelaghar 259/4 (Robi 116, Ankon 80) by six wickets



Gazi v Prime Bank, BKSP 3

Mohammedan v Shinepukur, Fatullah

Doleshwar v Abahani, Mirpur

All the games will start at 9am



Teams M W L T Pts NRR

Abahani 8 7 1 0 14 1.198

Shinepukur 8 5 3 0 10 0.476

Rupganj 8 5 3 0 10 0.378

Doleshwar 8 4 3 1 9 -0.122

Prime Bank 8 4 4 0 8 0.106

Sk Jamal 8 4 4 0 8 0.079

Brothers 8 4 4 0 8 0.043

Khelaghar 8 4 4 0 8 -0.48

Mohammedan 8 3 4 1 7 -0.102

Gazi Group 8 3 5 0 6 -0.418

Agrani Bank 8 2 6 0 4 -0.481

Kalabagan 8 2 6 0 4 -0.637

Related Stories

Leave a Comment

 Please read our Comment Policy before posting

Latest News

Featured Videos

Subscribe Ad_330:120

Most Read

Send this to a friend