40 BNP activists sent to jail in Tangail
Our Correspondent, Tangail

The BNP activists surrendered to the court and prayed for bail

At least 40 leaders and activists of Madhupur and Dhanbari upazila unit BNP were sent to jail in Tangail on Thursday.

The BNP leaders and activists surrendered to the senior judicial magistrate’s court in the district and prayed for bail.

But the court denied their bail petition and ordered that they be sent to jail.

Sources said two cases were filed with the Madhupur police station on 15 August in connection with vandalism and torching of government vehicles while another with Dhanbari police station on the same ground.

Some of the jailed leaders were Madhupur Municipality unit BNP president Sarker Nurul Islam, organising secretary Humayun Kabir Talukder, Madhupur upazila unit Sramik Dal president Asaduzzaman Asad, Dhanbari Municipality unit BNP president Khairul Munshi and Dhanbari upazila unit Jubo Dal convener Raton Fakir.

Earlier on 14 August, police arrested Madhupur Municipality Mayor Sarker Shahid, also the upazila unit BNP secretary. BNP men blocked the Tangail-Mymensingh-Jamalpur highway in protest against the arrest and carried out vandalism and set fire to some government vehicles.

Police filed three cases with the two police stations in this connection.

  • Google0
  • Linkedin0
  • ShareThis
  • Print Friendly and PDF

comments powered by Disqus