• Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:41 am

NICAR gives conditional approval to Faridpur City Corporation

  • Published at 06:13 pm October 21st, 2019
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chairs a NICAR meeting, held at at PMO on Monday, October 21, 2019 PID

It also approved 15 proposals including seven new police stations and one municipality

National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reform (NICAR) has conditionally approved the formation of Faridpur City Corporation (FCC), seven new police stations and one municipality.

“The NICAR gave approval to 15 proposals, including conditional formation of Faridpur City Corporation (FCC), seven new police stations and one municipality,” Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam said while addressing a news briefing at the Secretariat after the meeting at PMO on Monday, reports BSS.

Replying to a query about announcing Comilla and Gazipur as city corporations although they are not divisions, he said: “It was made in the past. But, it will not happen in the future as there is a guideline of not forming any city corporation without being a divisional city. Divisional headquarters will be formed as city corporations.”

So, Faridpur City Corporation will soon be formed after it is turned into a division, he added.

The police stations which got NICAR approval are: Padma Bridge Uttar, Padma Bridge Dakhin, Darshana in Chuadanga, Bhulli in Thakurgaon, Bhasanchar in Noakhali, Rangunia in Chittagong, and Eidgah in Cox’s Bazar while the new municipality is Biswanath in Sylhet.

He also added that the meeting also gave its green signal for the expansion of borders of Gopalganj Municipality, Mongla Port Municipality in Bagerhat district, and Kaliakair Municipality in Gazipur district and demarcation of the administrative border of Mehendiganj and Kajirhat Police Stations in Barisal district.

“The meeting also approved excluding BEZA from Sonargaon Municipality in Narayanganj following a rule that allows formation of BEZA in municipality area, while some areas of Comilla Adarsha Sadar Upazila were excluded from it as the areas fell under the jurisdiction of Comilla City Corporation,” he added.