• Friday, Jul 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:41 pm
Straight Bat: Indo-Pak cricket is always...

Straight Bat: Indo-Pak cricket is always...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sat, Jul 13 2019

Sports brings out the primal side of humans and it is most evident during Indo-Pak cricket matches

Straight Bat: Pakistan beats Bangladesh...

Straight Bat: Pakistan beats Bangladesh...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sat, Jul 6 2019

When the main batter is down and out, the others cannot win it for him

Straight Bat: Afghan captain ensures...

Straight Bat: Afghan captain ensures...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sun, Jun 30 2019

It was the 46th over and the Afghan spinners had choked Pakistan like no one had in the tournament, and...

Straight Bat: When ducks play...

Straight Bat: When ducks play...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sat, Jun 29 2019

A dull match played out between South Africa and Sri Lanka

Straight Bat: “Cricket betting is a...

Straight Bat: “Cricket betting is a...

Afsan Chowdhury

Fri, Jun 28 2019

Cricket betting in Dhaka is becoming increasingly popular

Straight Bat: A very popular

Straight Bat: A very popular

Cricket

Wed, Jun 26 2019

Australia thrash England to reach the semis

Straight Bat: The night Shakib became...

Straight Bat: The night Shakib became...

Afsan Chowdhury

Tue, Jun 25 2019

Bangladesh’s strengths and weaknesses are all on the table

Straight Bat: Of congratulations and...

Straight Bat: Of congratulations and...

Afsan Chowdhury

Mon, Jun 24 2019

Pakistan punished South Africa with a comprehensive victory

Straight Bat: The night of...

Straight Bat: The night of...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sun, Jun 23 2019

West Indies and Afghanistan lacked the patience required to win

Straight Bat: Thank you for those glum...

Straight Bat: Thank you for those glum...

Afsan Chowdhury

Sat, Jun 22 2019

Today, we celebrate a huge blow to English pride and arrogance

Straight Bat: 'Bangla' is a province...

Straight Bat: 'Bangla' is a province...

Afsan Chowdhury

Fri, Jun 21 2019

Kolkata babus see Bangladesh as Bengal’s 'independent' part and themselves as the culturally...

Straight Bat: Bangladesh score their...

Straight Bat: Bangladesh score their...

Afsan Chowdhury

Fri, Jun 21 2019

When the highest wicket-taker is Soumya Sarkar, a part-time bowler who opens the innings, big teams will...

Straight Bat: New Zealand tops the chart...

Straight Bat: New Zealand tops the chart...

Afsan Chowdhury

Thu, Jun 20 2019

The team continues to play steady and efficient cricket

Straight Bat: Goodbye dark horses

Straight Bat: Goodbye dark horses

Afsan Chowdhury

Wed, Jun 19 2019

Afghanistan had no chance against the formidable English side

Straight Bat: The day Bangladesh won,...

Straight Bat: The day Bangladesh won,...

Afsan Chowdhury

Tue, Jun 18 2019

WI bowling had no answer to that

Straight Bat: Has UN formally granted...

Straight Bat: Has UN formally granted...

Sports

Sun, Jun 16 2019

When it comes to India and Pakistan, it’s always more than just cricket

Straight Bat: WI lose, Eng win, the...

Straight Bat: WI lose, Eng win, the...

Sports

Sat, Jun 15 2019

Friday was one of the WI's worst performances

Straight Bat: Neither Pakistan nor winner...

Straight Bat: Neither Pakistan nor winner...

Afsan Chowdhury

Thu, Jun 13 2019

Pakistan looked to be in the fight but once the third wicket fell, the victory machine slowed to a...

Straight Bat: Is there life after...

Straight Bat: Is there life after...

Afsan Chowdhury

Tue, Jun 11 2019

Bangladesh’s chances of making it to the semis are almost gone now

Straight Bat: Shakib’s injury, Tamim’s...

Straight Bat: Shakib’s injury, Tamim’s...

Cricket

Tue, Jun 11 2019

Bangladesh’s optimistic netizens are scared that rains will steal their two points away

Straight Bat: Is the table already being...

Straight Bat: Is the table already being...

Afsan Chowdhury

Mon, Jun 10 2019

At the second tier, Sri Lanka and Pakistan both have three points having shared the spoils of the...